The Free Gift Theory: Clinique


OK, so, I’m casually walking around Boots or Superdrug, when BAM, buy one get one free, or BAM, free gift, or BAM, 3 for £10. I hate them. I HATE THEM. Which is annoying, because I also love them, because It’s FREE MAKEUP. But I end up buying way more stuff than I actually need.

Image

This is what I bought the other day, when I went shopping to get a BB Cream. Clinique have this offer going on where you can buy one skincare and any other item and you get a free gift, and it’s a reallyreally good free gift. Just want to start off by mentioning the citrus-y make-up bag everything comes in-

Image

IT’S SO CUTE. I did a post about my make-up bag the other day, but yeah. This is my new make-up bag. ISN’T IT PRETTY?

Image

This is actually amazing, the only things here that I actually payed for (I know, I know, they’re so overpriced I actually payed for all of it) are the Clinique Chubby Stick in 08 Grandest Grape which I love. If you’ve read any of my posts before you’ll know I’ve been obsessed with these for ages, and I actually love them. It’s not one of those really depressing things that you REALLYREALLYWANT and then you buy it and it’s crap, they’re actually amazing. The only fault  with them, especially with this dark colour, is that it’s quite difficult to apply. The end is kind of pointed like a crayon, which means you literally have to colour your lips in, but I think when I’ve used it a few times it’ll be fine:) The skincare item I bought was Redness Solutions Instant Relief Mineral Pressed Powder, which looks amazing. I haven’t used it yet, but you apparently just dab it on your skin to get rid of redness, which is great for me because my skin is awful and I go bright red, so I’ll let you know if it’s any good. Hopefully my mom won’t decide it’s rightfully hers and steal it before then, though. 

The contents of the free gift:

Ironically, it actually contained a chubby stick. It’s a mini version in 06 Whoppin’ Watermelon, which is nice but I don’t like it as much as my grape one because my lips are naturally quite dark, so this doesn’t show up unless I spend two hours making my lips look lighter first. This kind of defeats the object of why I wanted a chubby stick in the first place. I love lipsticks that you can just apply quickly before you leave the house which I can’t do with light colours. It’s lovely all the same, and I will use it, but I prefer lipsticks that stand out, otherwise I don’t really see the point. Also, correct me if I’m wrong, but watermelon is, ahem, RED. Not sheer pink. 

The gift also came with High Impact Mascara in 01 Black. I hardly ever wear mascara, so I’m not sure how much use I’ll get out of this, but the brush looks OK and the formula seems fine, but it’s got nothing on my Avon one. Honestly, best mascara ever. It also came with Quickliner for Eyes in 01 Intense Black, which is actually amazing. It’s in kind of pencil form but it looks like liquid liner when you’re wearing it, and it’s really easy to apply. I only have one problem. I’ve used it once and it’s pretty much run out. Well, it hasn’t, but it’s obviously not one you can sharpen, and it won’t twist or anything so I can get the rest of the eyeliner. Am I being really thick here? Is there some really obvious way to get it to work? PLEASE HELP ME. 

ImageImage

I’m so confused. By the way, I’m not sure if you can tell by this, but the packaging feels really cheap. I’m not sure if that means this is a sample, and you only get like a tiny bit of eyeliner with it, because the packaging says ‘not for individual sale’ so I’m not sure if you can buy it. Leave me a comment if you have any ideas.

It also came with Moisture Surge moisturiser, which is gorgeous, and I think I’ll be buying it in full size when it runs out. It’s one of those formulas that goes on like liquid and then feels like powder. It’s a really nice light moisturiser and you really don’t need a lot of it. There was also All About Eyes serum which is supposed reduce puffy eyes and dark circles. Not sure how useful this will be to me, but it’s a really nice formula like the moisturiser, and I’ll definitely give it a go. 

The last thing that came with the gift that I’m pretty exited about is the Rinse Off Foaming Cleanser. I hate taking my make-up off with make-up wipes because they’re just so bad for your skin, so this is cool:) I’ve been using my No7 one a lot recently but there isn’t much left, so this is good. My mom’s used this before and says she loved it actually:) Me and my dad got this gift for her about a week ago for her birthday,  and she wanted the full size version of this cleanser as the skin care part but we got the wrong one (oops), and we got her the full-size foundation that she had as a trial a while ago. 

My BB Cream-

Image

 

I can cross this off my Spring Wishlist now!:) I’m not going to say too much about this because I want to do a full review of it because I realised I only ever do like big group type reviews. 

Other random stuff I got yesterday-

Image

Dry shampoo! I have a real love/hate relationship with this stuff. But look how nice the bottle is? I’m embracing the pink. I’m growing up.

Image

Bandeau tops- I think the rest if the world bought these about a year ago but I’ve only just got round to it, basically only because I’ve decided they’ll be pretty useful for when I go on holiday:)

Thanks for reading, leave me a comment if you have any sort of idea about that bloody eyeliner-.-

I HAVE A CLINIQUE CHUBBY STICK. WOO.

31 responses to “The Free Gift Theory: Clinique

  1. About the Clinique eyeliner, it is a sample. Though I dare say that the full price thing isn’t that much of an improvment.

  2. I see you do a lot of blogs involving Clinique products, How do you like them? I use Bobbi Brown and Olay, but since Bobbi discontinued my foundation I thought of switching to Clinique. What do you think about their products in comparison to Bobbi Brown? What all products do you use?

    • Well to be honest, this is pretty much my entire Clinique collection, but my mom actually has quite a lot more of it;) So far though, I absolutely LOVE everything I’ve used. I don’t have a Clinique foundation, purely because there isn’t one light enough for me, but the formula of my mom’s one is brilliant. Saying that, I still prefer my Bobbi Brown Skin Foundation, it’s really lightweight and has good coverage.
      Clinique and Bobbi Brown are two of my favourite make up brands of all time, and putting them against each other would probably come up with an equal pro’s and con’s list.
      http://www.bobbibrown.co.uk/product/5141/7637/Makeup/Face/Foundation/Skin-Foundation-SPF-15/Award-Winner/index.tmpl
      This is the foundation I use if you’re interested:)

      • Okay! Fair enough! I was thinking of just going and having my makeup and such done by Clinique and seeing. I absolutely love Bobbi Brown makeup, but I have never used their cleansers.

      • It’s definitely worth a try(: You might find a product you really love and they can normally do your make-over for free;)

        I’ve not used cleansers either, I’ve only ever used a few Bobbi Brown’s, and I definitely need more. There’s a palette called the City Twilight Collection at the moment that I want so much, it looks beautiful. I’ve also got my eye on the Bobbi Basics set:)

  3. You got yourself some really nice things! and that makeup bag is so cute! x

  4. I am totally obsessed with BB Cream!

    A new outfit post and photo diary from World MasterCard Fashion Week is up on Local & Opulent

    http://localandopulent.wordpress.com/2013/03/27/wmcfw-photo-diary-day-3/

  5. lulusbeautyspot

    You got lovely things for an amazing deal, and that makeup bag is adorable! I’m obsessed with the chubby sticks as well! xx

  6. Oh my god, I love moisture surge. It’s also really awesome for sun burns! It cools your face down a ton!

  7. Must Have Boxes

    That makeup bag is so incredibly cute!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

  8. strawberryglow

    A great haul! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the link! I’ve literally tried everything, but it won’t twist. I don’t think that’s the same eyeliner, but I assume it’s supposed to be twisted anyway-.-
      Thanks for your comment:)

  9. AWESOME deal!!!! I’m drooling over everything you showed!!! :3

  10. Sam

    It looks like there is still product in the eyeliner, so I’m assuming there must be a way to get it out. You’re sure there’s nothing you can twist to get the rest of the product out? Maybe the cap? Ugh. It’s so frustrating when makeup companies make it more difficult then it has to be!

penny for your thoughts?

