SHINY NEW THINGS, PART TWO


MAKEUP

I promised you there’d be a part two, didn’t I;) There is actually one more item that was supposed to be on this post, but I couldn’t wait for it to be delivered any longer, so I’ll be doing a separate review on that. But anyway:) I did a post a while ago about my Superdrug Basket, which I ended up ordering, which is cool. And there’s a couple of other things I picked up too.

Image

Oooh, pwetty:)

I’m going to start with the most disappointing products and work my way up to my favourite ones, because I like to keep the suspense going:)

So, first, Rimmel Apocolips. Now, I feel a bit mean saying this is my least favourite, but I was really pleased with this order, so even my least favourite is better than a lot of products I’ve used. But anyway, I have been so so psyched about trying the Apocolips range since they were first released, I think it was mainly the packaging which I lurve. I literally tried this the second I ripped open the big bubble-wrapped envelope, and I was really, really shocked. And not even in a good way. I really wanted to like these, so I am going to try the other colours, but Apocoliptic, I swear, is insane. It is so bright. Even putting a little dab of it on and then spreading it around leaves an insanely pigmented bright bright fuschia-red, and I just can’t wear it. Like I said, I am going to try a paler colour because I really don’t want to just give up on these, and for £5.99 each, that’s alright.

Image

 

Second- Technic Whipped Blusher Mousse. There’s a couple of Technic products in this list, but I actually can’t link them because I can’t find anywhere to buy them online, but if you see them anywhere give them a go, they’re really cheap and surprisingly good. Anyway, this blusher, which is the little pink pot in my picture above, is kind of mediocre. It would be great, especially the idea, but the formula’s really not-smooth. I don’t know how to describe it, but it’s really difficult to use. It is use-able, it’s just not something I would use everyday. And, I’m not sure what I was thinking, but I bought shade 01, Candy Pink. Why. I’m trying to get away from pink-tones, because my skin’s so red anyway. But I bought pink. And I will probably only be using this when I do other people’s makeup.

Nivea Caramel Cream Lip Butter– this is another one I’ve heard sososo much about, particularly this flavour. It is honestly the best smelling lip butter in.the.world. Amazing. But it is definitely a bed-side-table lip balm. Yes, that’s right, I categorise my lip balms. There’s handbag ones, makeup drawer ones, and bedside table ones. Handbag ones are the ones that are easiest to apply, makeup drawer ones are generally tinted ones, and bedside table ones are the ridiculously moisturising ones. This is definitely one of those. It kind of shows up white on your lips, so it’s not very socially-acceptable, but it’s great as like a lip-mask.

Image

Technic Twist Up Lipstick- OK, this is basically a rip-off of a Chubby Stick, and the colour payoff is actually better because it is definitely a lipstick rather than a lipbalm. It just looks pink until you apply it, but then it is literally completely iridescent and blue toned. It’s kind of incredible, but not really all that wearable. Love it, but it’s not top of my list.

Image

Technic Eyeshadow Shimmer Stick- This is just another eye crayon, and every brand seems to have one of these at the moment, and this one is surprisingly good. It’s really pigmented and really creamy, which unfortunately means it doesn’t last all that way, especially without a primer. It’s just a really nice, basic shimmery silver, and I actually think I’ll use it quite a bit. This one and the lip crayon are twist up too, which is great.

Collection Illuminating Touch Brightening Concealer. So confusing, because this used to be Collection 2000, and now it’s just collection. But anyway, this is really great. It doesn’t really seem to ‘illuminate’, but it’s a great under-eye concealer. I’m using shade 1, Naked and it’s actually not too dark for me. The only thing I don’t like is the annoying brush thing, which I hate, because it just gets all messed up and dries and stuff-.- I wish it was just like a lipgloss type tube, but it’s really amazing all the same.

Image

Maybelline Color Sensational Popsticks- I know. I know. You’re all sick of hearing me talk about how amazing these are, I can’t help it. My other one was running low, so I ordered 040 Crystal Pink, which I love. I actually think I prefer this colour to 060 Citrus Slice which is amazing. Crystal Pink looks a really dark red, but just leaves your lips dark pink. SO AMAZING. Little colour comparison for you-

Image

Last- Maybelline Dream Touch Blush. I just love Maybelline at the moment. I’ve been using Apricot 01, every day since it arrived, I just love it. It’s the same kind of idea as the Technic one, just so much better. It’s just a cream brush, in the best colour ever, it’s just a slightly shimmery peach. Love it. I will completely definitely absolutely be repurchasing this. You should so try it. 

Image

This is the picture on the Superdrug website, and I have no idea where they got that from. It makes it look like it’s really soft, but it’s not. It actually looks like this-

Image

And, as you might have noticed from the first picture, there are two Urban Decay palettes there, which is very, very exiting:D I’m going to give them a post of their own, so look out for that, if you’re interested:)

14 responses to “SHINY NEW THINGS, PART TWO

  1. i love your blog, don’t find many that are so clear, it is nice to see that someone really understands.

  2. Loving every single thing!!! *O*

  3. I also LOVE the Naked palettes! Just bought the Naked 2 palette, the Urban Decay eye shadow primer potion, and the 24/7 glide on eye liner in perversion..AMAZING

  4. I love love love the Naked palettes! I’m looking forward to that post.

  5. the popsticks look awesome!! are they only in the UK?

    • I’m not sure..:)but if you do see them anywhere, pick them up, they’re awesome:)
      I just had a quick look and I can’t find anywhere that sell them that ship worldwide;(
      Hopefully you’ll manage to find one:)

penny for your thoughts?

