New Things! Part 3


Part 3- makeup!:)

Ok, I was meant to write this post ages ago but I never got round to it, but now, here it is! YAY:) I’ve had so many people mention that they want to see what I think of the lipsticks in the big collage picture I posted on Part 1 and 2, so I’m pretty exited to start writing this.

Image

Beauty Blenders!

It took some deliberation, but I’ve decided these definitely go with makeup, not skincare, even though I’m sure my skin has been clearer since I’ve started using these to apply my makeup. These aren’t genuine beauty blenders, but I can’t see how they could work any better or be any different, because these are just fantastic. I use mine for foundation, powder, and sometimes even blush and highlighter, because it creates such a flawless, natural finish. Little tip, if you’re one of the lucky people who can get away with just wearing powder on your skin, try applying it with one of these. It’ll give you a really fantastic layer of natural looking coverage. Something to think about;) I get mine from Amazon or Ebay;)

Image

Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation in 010 Light Porcelain.

WOW. Really, just wow. This foundation is incredible. About six months ago, I started wearing foundation. I was using Bobbi Brown skin foundation in the lightest shade, because it was the only thing I could find that was light enough for me. I’ve loved it ever since, but every drugstore foundation I tried was too dark for me, so I was still hunting for a cheaper alternative. Fast forward five months, and I’m with my little sister in Superdrug, trying to find a foundation that would suit her (which she didn’t need, because she has great skin, but all her friends had started wearing makeup. Irritating) and we decided on a BB Cream for her, when she noticed this bottle of foundation and was all like ‘haha, Loll, that foundation looks light enough even for you‘ and damn it, she was right. And I love it, and it has a better coverage than Bobbi Brown, which for days when my skin is gross, is really nice. The only thing I will say is that If you have oily skin, this probably isn’t for you. I have combination skin, but I hate matte foundations, I think skin should have some natural glowiness to it, and I think matte foundations hide that. But anyway, this is great for nice, healthy looking skin for maybe five hours, but then I find my skin starts to get a bit oily. Maybe it’s just me, but I’ve found that my Bobbi Brown is perfect for keeping my skin the same all day, but Match Perfection is less than £10, so I’m not complaining.

Revlon Baby Stick in Tahitian

I’m still deliberating about this product. Over the past few months I’ve become a bit of a blush fanatic, trying out every single product I could get my hands on. This is the latest in that line, and it’s the first one I have a serious love/hate relationship with. I picked it up in the Superdrud 3-for-2 sale, so I figured if I didn’t like it, it didn’t really matter because essentially, it was free;) But anyway, when I first tried it, I was like, ‘OMG, this is amazing’. It says it’s for lips and cheeks, and I was loving it for both. It was a really sheer wash of colour, which is great if you’re pale like me (and Casper). But, after a while, I noticed the little colour there was faded, and it was just kinda greasy, so I don’t know. If you have dry skin, maybe give this a go? I’m determined to give this a fair chance, so I’m not going to say I hate it just yet;)

Rimmel Expression Kajal Eyeliner

Bought it because I wanted a waterproof eyeliner pencil. Thought it might work. Was alright. There’s not really much else I can say about this. It’s an eyeliner pencil, it lasts pretty well, the ‘lead’ wasn’t as soft as I like them to be, could be kinda scratchy. I’ve got cheaper eyeliners I prefer, so mergh;( If you have a waterproof eyeliner pencil, let me know!

Image

Natural Collection Moisture Shine Lipsticks in Cranberry and Raspberry

I realised about a month ago that I don’t have any lipsticks. Said fact totally freaked me out, so I started obsessing about them:) I’ve always had a bit of a problem with lipsticks. I’ve never really found a shade that looked quite right on me, so I decided to go to my trusty Natural Collection counter and try out some of the shades. These two really caught my eye, and I love them both. They both look pretty natural on me, which is nice, but they’re like a me-but-better product, you know? These are about £2 each from Boots, which is absolutely fantastic and they’re totally worth it.

I really can’t write today ugh;(

Image

Revlon Lip Butters in Tutti Frutti and Wild Watermelon

Tutti Frutti was one of the very first things I reviewed on this blog. That was a loooong time ago. I was in love with it for a while, and then I forgot about it for a while, but then the other day I picked up Wild Watermelon and fell in love all over again. They’re just brilliant, they can be really sheer, or really pigmented, and it’s like you can use it as seven different lipsticks. And I’m starting to want to buy more of these. I think we all know what that could mean. Someone recommend me some colours, preferably similar to this, I like reds and dark pinks, before I buy them all to try. HELP.

Image

Barry M TMLP Lipstick

This was part of an absolutely lovely giveaway by Asha from http://www.theoxfordowl.wordpress.com which, moment of tense silence please, I won. It arrived a couple of weeks ago, with Mr. Bumble, this lipstick, a face mask, and couple of other insanely cute little things!:) So check out her blog because it’s fabulous, and you’ll love it. Follow+like+comment. But anyway, this lipstick. My god, I actually love it. I’m sorry I don’t have a picture, but you’ll just have to take my word that this thing goes fuchsia. I’ll have to wear it in a Youtube video so you can see;) But wow. It lasts amazingly well, it’s really conditioning, and the colour is great. What more can you ask for;)? You can buy this for £4.49 at Boots or Superdrug. I might have to buy another one of these, just because I want to see how it would work in lip-balm form. That could be pretty amazing!:) If you have no idea what I’m talking about, check out Cass’ blog, she’s done a post on making your own lip balm, and it looks amazing and I can’t wait to try it.

BLOGS TO LOOK AT:

http://www.bananarockets.wordpress.com

http://www.theoxfordowl.wordpress.com

PRODUCTS I’VE MENTIONED

Barry M TMLP Lipstick

Revlon Lip Butter, I have Tutti Frutti and Wild Watermelon

Natural Collection Lipsticks, available in Boots stores

Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation

Revlon Baby Stick, can’t find it on the website

Rimmel Kohl Kajal Eyeliner

And check out http://www.findation.com, it’s absolutely fantastic for finding out what foundation shade you should wear, if you already have two examples that suit you.

X

11 responses to “New Things! Part 3

  1. Glad you’re enjoying the lipstick! 🙂
    I’ve tagged you in the Rainbow Tag 🙂 http://theoxfordowl.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/rainbow-tag/
    Looking forward to seeing your take on it!

  2. LOVE the Revlon Lip Butters…Peach Parfait is my current color. As far as a waterproof eyeliner, check out Urban Decay 24/7 glide on liner…super super smooth application and stays put. I can’t go without it!

  3. I also love the Revlon Lip Butters. My favorite colors: Cherry Tart, Pink Truffle, Berry Smoothie and Peach Parfait. Red Velvet and Raspberry Pie are ok but heavier, darker, so I don’t wear them often. Looks like I need to find Watermelon.

    Nope, not addicted to these at all, LOL!

    • Ooh, those are actually all colours I’ve been looking at! Berry Smoothie and Pink Truffle look really pretty! Haha! Might have to pick up another 1 of these…or 5…
      They’re just too pretty!

penny for your thoughts?

