Dry Skin Solutions


I honestly have the most annoying skin, ever. It can go from really oily, to really dry in a few days. It’s insane, but over the past year or so, I’ve built up a pretty fool-proof collection of products that make my skin a little more normal.

So, think of this as part one, because there’ll be an ‘Oily Skin Solutions’ post in a few days, hopefully! I’m also thinking of doing a favourite skincare post, too- sensing a pattern? I go a bit skincare-crazy when I don’t have to leave the house (wooooo school holidays). Just so you know, this isn’t going to be insanely detailed, it’s just a list, really, of what products I use:)

Hair

OK, I have really long, thick, dark hair (nightmare), so in summer it gets crazily dehydrated. I have honestly seriously considered chopping all my hair off because of this. Seriously, the other day I was just standing in front of the mirror, with a pair of scissors ready to cut my hair to a chin-length bob (ironically pretty popular right now), before I managed to snap myself out of it. Luckily, I’ve found some pretty great products.

  1. About half an hour before I wash my hair, I’ll cover my hair in conditioner, normally Herbal Essences Hello Hydration. I’ll cover all of my hair with this, even the roots, which can be pretty scary. If your scalp is dry, it’s going to start producing more oil, which will cling to the roots of your hair but not really effect the scalp, which is why you can end up with the dreaded dry scalp/ greasy hair combo. So, to get rid of this, you have to moisturise the scalp- hello conditioner. Terrifying, but when you rinse it out properly, it’ll do wonders for your hair;)
  2. Anyway, after the 30-minute-condition, I like to use E45 Conditioning Shampoo. It smells kind of funky, but it really does the job. Then just rinse, dry and style like normal;)! Yeah, that’s right, I condition then shampoo. Crazy. Drastic times, drastic measures.
  3. I’ve been loving the VO5 Hot-Oil Treatments, too. It’s great for dry, damaged hair and makes it super soft and shiny.

Body

I think we all have dozens of moisturisers, body butters, and lotions stashed away somewhere. They’re annoying, but I swear, these ones work. I’ve included my fave body wash in the list too;) –

  1. If you have dry skin, E45 Cream is your friend. It’s not fancy, it doesn’t have pretty packaging and it doesn’t smell amazing, but it’s probably one of the best dry-skin-fixes there is. I normally use this before I go to bed because it’s so moisturising.
  2. Nip + Fab Body Butters= amazing. They smell great, they soak into your skin and I don’t find the perfumes in them too harsh for sensitive skin.
  3. This is one that I’m not sure many people use for dry skin, but Bio-Oil. Because, you guessed it, it’s an oil. Basically, last year I was pretty ill, and lost a lot of weight, but then I started running and eating and stuff so I gained a lot of muscle very, very quickly. This, of course, meant I got stretch marks on the back of my knees. I started using Bio-Oil, but then I realised how amazingly moisturised it made my skin feel, so I’ve just kept using it.
  4. Sanex 0% Body Wash for dry and very dry skin- I go through this stuff like it’s oxygen. Just buy it.

Face

For lack of a better title. To make things awkward, I always manage to maintain my teenage-skin-oily-t-zone, but I sometimes get very dry skin on the rest of my face. So…

  1. First thing in the morning, I clean my skin with Bioderma. I can’t say enough good things about Bioderma, it’s awesome. It doesn’t really ‘treat’ skin, but it is going to make it nice and clean.
  2. I use two moisturisers in the morning, but for now I’ll just talk about Clinique Moisture Surge. It is amazing. It’s one of those products that just feels expensive, and I’d recommend it to anybody.
  3. Make-up as normal! Luckily, when I’ve used a moisturiser, I don’t have any problems with my make-up, but if you do, then definitely look for a foundation formulated for dry/normal skin.
  4. At the end of the day, I’ll remove my make-up with Bioderma (again) and then use a really creamy facial wash, like Soap&Glory Peaches and Clean, before using Moisture Surge again, and going to bed.

And there we have it;) Those are some of the products I use for dry skin. The next post (Oily Skin) is going to have spot treatments and exfoliaters in there, too;) Let me know if you like Skincare Posts!

x

Image

On a completely different note, this is what I did to my hair a few weeks ago before I cut it. Apparently, my hair’s pretty resistant to bleach.

4 responses to “Dry Skin Solutions

  1. I also condition before shampoo. And then condition again for a few minutes more, seems like dry hair can’t get enoughof it.

penny for your thoughts?

