Revlon Lip Butters Review+Swatches!:)


 I have been so psyched about writing this post for so long! They’re another product which everyone has already reviewed, but I love them so much, so now I’ve collected all the shades I wanted I can write about them. So yay! I have 16 shades- they’re mostly the brighter, more pigmented shades because I’m not a huge fan of all of the pale baby pinks they have. I’ve done swatches for all of them- except Invite Only and Provocative which I talked about the other day in my last post. Here are all the pictures, and then I’ll do a little review of them:D

 Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

By the way- I know these swatches aren’t amazing but that’s just my rubbish lighting and photography. You can also wear these a lot more opaque/ less opaque, this is just how I like the colours:D

For those of you how don’t know, the Revlon Lip Butters are pretty much 50/50 lip balm and lip stick. They’re like the tinted moisturiser of the lipstick-world. They’re all very nicely pigmented- a lot of people have said that some shades are more pigmented than the others but I actually just think some colours show up better because of the shade. They glide on really nicely and evenly and you don’t even need a mirror to apply most of them. Some of the newer formulas are a little less buttery than the originals I think, but they all feel the same on the lips. One or two shades are ever so slightly gritty feeling, purely because they have a little bit of glittery shimmery stuff in them, but it’s nothing unbearable. These lip butters aren’t particularly moisturising or drying- my lips will pretty much feel the same before and after wearing them. The one thing about these butters that isn’t absolutely amazing is how long they last. Obviously they don’t last as long as a lipstick, because they are very shiny and will move around on the lips a little, but they last a good hour or so and are really easy to re-apply. You don’t need a lot of product to get an almost opaque colour, either. Some of the darker, more intense shades will fade to an almost-matte stain on the lips, which is really cool. Most of the colours are pretty true to how they look in the bullet as well, apart from Berry Smoothie. That one is kind of a shock. So basically- loads of cute colours, cute names, great product, stunning packaging- you can’t go wrong.

Image

Screen Shot 2014-03-02 at 13.26.48

*second picture, purely for the better lighting*

Most Wearable- Macaroon, Berry Smoothie, Peach Parfait, Sugar Plum.

Intense Colour- Wild Watermelon, Candy Apple, Red Velvet, Lollipop, Sorbet, Raspberry Pie, Tutti Frutti.

Everyone Should Try- Wild Watermelon, Peach Parfait, Berry Smoothie.

My Favourites- Wild Watermelon, Peach Parfait, Macaroon, Tutti Frutti, Sweet Tart, Juicy Papaya

Pink Truffle- warm, pink-toned brown

Peach Parfait- pale and peachy

Macaroon- slightly peachy medium pink

Berry Smoothie- purple, but applies as a natural pink

Sugar Plum- pale, pink-y purple

Red Velvet- deep red-y purple

Juicy Papaya- peachy pale orange

Candy Apple- orange toned dark red

Tutti Frutti- bright, medium orange

Wild Watermelon- slightly blue red

Lollipop- dark fuchsia plum

Sorbet- bright, medium pink

Raspberry Pie- very dark purple-y pink

Sweet Tart- bright, light pink

I haven’t done any swatches for Invite Only or Provacative (new limited edition lip butters) but if you’d like to have a look at those, have a look at my last post:)

Which shades do you like the look of? Are there any here that you have or that you’re going to buy? And are there maybe one or two more colours I should get…? What’s Strawberry Shortcake like? It looks pretty but I was thinking it might be too light for me. I also really want Cherry Tart, but for some reason that’s the only shade they don’t sell in the UK, annoyingly. I love these lip butters so much, they actually take up like half of my lipstick drawer now!:D

Thanks for reading this far:), hope you liked this post!

x

18 responses to “Revlon Lip Butters Review+Swatches!:)

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Under £10 | la belle

  2. Pingback: Currently Loving #3 | la belle

  3. Pingback: Lip Colours | Spring Favourites | la belle

  4. V

    The names really sell me. They sound delicious

  5. Pingback: Favourite Lip Care | la belle

  6. Pingback: Favourite Pink Things | la belle

  7. My favorites are Juicy Papaya, Pink Truffle & Lollipop.
    I’m not fond of baby pinks either but I found Pink Lemonade was a great light pink/nude for me!

  8. Literally just bought Strawberry Shortcake from Boots;O

  9. I thought I had a lot of lip butters, but apparently not! Haha. They all look super gorgeous, but the light ones look weird on me; oh well. Pink Truffle is my favorite go-to lip color though!

  10. Oh my. I envy you for having every single shade of them!!! I only have one and..I don’t like it very much! It Sugar Frosting and makes me look paler than I already am! :/

    • Haha! I love them so much:) There are a couple of shades I don’t have, all the ones like Sugar Frosting:) I’m not a huge fan of the baby pinks:( It’s so sad that you don’t like yours;/

penny for your thoughts?

