Barry M | Shadow and Blush Palette


OMG BARRY M PALETTES ASDFGHJKL

Image

Image

I get a little obsessive, if any of you have noticed, so when I saw that Barry M had released a pretty, organised make-up palette I decided I had to have at least one of them. Barry M has been one of my favourite nail polish brands for almost a year now, but I’d never really tried their make-up so a palette seemed like a good investment. Right? Right.

Three palettes have been released- Natural Glow, Glamour Puss and Smokin’ Hot. I decided to buy Natural Glow (a pretty neutral palette) and Glamour Puss (because it was limited edition and the glittery, colourful shades looked awesome). I’m not a huge fan of dark smokey eye looks, so I didn’t bother with Smokin’ Hot, but only having 2 of the 3 new releases is slightly stressful so I might have to go and buy that one too. Saying that, I wouldn’t be surprised if Barry M released more of these next year, so maybe I can wait…

The first thing that I thought when I picked these up was how damn cute the packaging was. It’s not the most hand-bag-proof, but I love the Soap&Glory-esque cardboard palette. The names and the Barry M logo is printed on the front in pretty metallic lettering too which I love. It’s got a little magnet to keep it closed, which seems to work fine. It’s pretty and functional, and you can’t really ask for more from a £6.49 palette.

Though these are advertised as Shadow and Blush palettes, the main feature is definitely the eyeshadows. I’d almost prefer it if they’d swap the blush for another two shadows. Blush is a kind of personal thing, I think. It’s difficult to get your perfect blush shade and there are probably only a few people who would genuinely wear the blush shades in these palettes. The eye shadow colour range, however, is genuinely lovely and worth putting up with the blush for.

Natural Glow

Image

Image

Image

One of the first things I noticed about this palette was that some of the shades were very Urban Decay. They aren’t quite dupes, but they’re close enough. They all look pretty and natural, with two matte shades and four super shimmery shades.

The formula for the eyeshadows is really soft and not at all chalky, but I do find that they really blend themselves together when applied. You can’t get any definite lines and sections of colour with these, but they make a pretty, natural eye make-up look.

“Enhance your natural glow with these 6 subtle eyeshadows in natural hues and pastel pink blush.”

Image

Shade 1- lovely shimmery, slightly sliver pink. This reminds me of a mix of Sin and Toasted from the Naked palette, or Maybelline Colour Tattoo 24HR in Pink Gold.

Shade 2- peachy-cream shade- I believe this might be pretty similar to one of the colours in the Naked Basics palette? But it’s also a lot like a pale version of Bootycall from Naked 2.

Shade 3- this is really just a medium brown, which is matte so I reckon a lot of people will be able to use this for their eyebrows. it’s like a mix of Naked and Buck from the Naked palette.

Image

Shade 4- shimmery grey/brown, almost like a pale version of Pistol from Naked. This is probably my favourite of the shades, it’s very pretty.

Shade 5- this is a lovely dark bronze, another of my favourites in this palette. Carrying on with the Urban Decay comparisons, this is quite similar to Smog but slightly less…bronze?

Shade 6- dark, shimmery, almost-slightly-plum-toned brown. If you were going to mix Darkhorse and Hustle, this is what you’d get.

Image

 Blush- baby pink and shimmery. Despite being fairly pigmented (like all of these shades) this blush barely shows up on my super-pale skin, and all it does is make imperfections (of which I have many) look even worse. Because it’s shimmery, it might look pretty as a highlighter on darker skin tones but for me it’s pretty useless. 

Glamour Puss

Image

Image

Image

This is the only palette out of the three which is limited edition. I can’t decide whether it’s supposed to be Halloween or Christmas themed, but it’s filled with some dark, glittery, colourful eyeshadows which look simply gorgeous.

The formula for these is very similar to the Natural Glow palette- they aren’t too chalky and they aren’t too creamy, but they blend almost too well.

“Bring out your inner glamour puss with these 6 shimmering party eyeshadows and hot pink blush.”

Image

Shade 1- this looks just like a shimmery version of Shade 2 from Natural Glow. Pretty highlight colour.

Shade 2- this is a really pretty, super shimmery grey blue colour which would look gorgeous with loads of black eye liner, I think.

Shade 3- shimmery, plum- purple. This is absolutely gorgeous, but I’m still trying to work out how to wear it. Maybe as a liner? I’d love it as a lip colour.

Image

Shade 4- shimmery medium grey. This would probably look stunning with green eyes, even as an all-over lid colour.

Shade 5- dark shimmery brown- this is like a glittery version of Naked’s Darkhorse. Yes, I’m back to the Urban Decay comparisons.

Shade 6- dark shimmery grey, like a glittery mix of Creep and Gunmetal from Naked. 

Image

Blush- bright hot pink. I’m still too scared to try this, but it’s a really amazing colour.

So that’s it! I’ve come to the conclusion that for the price, these palettes are awesome. Have you tried them?

Available at Boots and Superdrug for £6.49.

X

6 responses to “Barry M | Shadow and Blush Palette

  1. Pingback: Currently Loving #2 |

  2. Pingback: Currently Loving #2 | la belle

  3. Pingback: Barry M | Flawless Matte Foundation | Loll Clarke

  4. Pingback: Barry M | Flawless Matte Foundation | la belle.

  5. blushingbeauty9

    The natural glow ones look amazing xx

penny for your thoughts?

