Sleek Vintage Romance


Image

Quite a while ago, I reviewed Sleek’s Lagoon palette. I was totally in love with the colours, but they’re pretty outrageous and mermaid-esque so the palette kind of got pushed to the back of my makeup drawer. I forgot about Sleek for a while, but then reviews of the Vintage Romance palette started popping up everywhere and it just looks so beautiful- I decided that with my new obsession to use eyeshadow, it would only be fair if I tried this one out too.

Image

Aren’t the names just the cutest things ever?!?

The colours in this palette are all really dark- much darker than I’m used to wearing. I do love the purple and gold tone though, so I’m going to have  to start playing around with it to make it work. I also love the formula of these shadows so much more than Lagoon- they’re much more powdery so they’re easier to apply and blend, but they’re not chalky so you don’t get too much fall out.

Image

Pretty in Paris- shimmery silver

Meet in Madrid- pale, shimmery gold

Court in Cannes- sparkly bronze

Lust in LA- shimmery greige/ bronze

Romance in Rome- slightly shimmery dark blue

Propose in Prague- matte terracotta

A Vow in Venice- slightly shimmery plum

Marry in Monte Carlo- sparkly purple

Honeymoon in Hollywood- dark slightly shimmery purple

Bliss in Barcelona- shimmery purple/ blue

Forever in Florence- very dark sparkly purple

Love in London- sparkly black

Look how pretty they are! Some of these shades are quite built up, but most of them are so pigmented that I barely touched them and they swatched completely opaque. I did these swatches yesterday, but I believe it was Court in Cannes, Lust in LA, Honeymoon in Hollywood, Forever in Florence, A Vow in Venice, Marry in Monte Carlo  and Love in London that had the amazing formula. I think the worst two were probably Romance in Rome and Bliss in Barcelona- I really couldn’t get those two to look as pretty swatched as they do in the pan.

Overall, I am really loving this palette. I’ve only used it a few times and I’m still trying to decide on my favourite colour combinations, but they last really well and are pretty easy to apply. This palette would be perfect for the Christmas and New Years party time of year, but hopefully I’ll be able to work out a nice everyday look for Project Use Eyeshadow!

Have you tried this, or any of the Sleek palettes?

Sleek Vintage Romance is £7.99 and available at Superdrug.

X

http://www.lollclarke.wordpress.com

6 responses to “Sleek Vintage Romance

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Under £10 | la belle

  2. Pingback: Frozen- Elsa Inspired Makeup | la belle

  3. These colours are really nice.

  4. I saw this when it was released and I thought the shades were gorgeous. But I never tried Sleek, so I’m not sure if I want to buy it.

    ~Anna

penny for your thoughts?

