Makeup Collection & Storage


I’ve been putting off doing this post for so long! I kept thinking, ‘there’s just one more thing I want to buy first’, or ‘I’m just going to move a few things around’ but the excuses are getting ridiculous so I’ve decided it will be a nice start to 2014 to talk about my make-up collection! Maybe it can be a yearly thing, that would be pretty cool.

Just as a little disclaimer- I don’t have an insane amount of make-up, but I definitely have more than I need. I love collecting make-up and trying new things but I’ve bought everything with my own money and quite a few things were gifts from friends and family. I’m writing this post purely because I think it’s something some people might be interested in and because I think it’ll be nice for me to look back on in a few years:) .

I store all of my make-up, nail polish, hair care, body care and some of my skin care in the Ikea Alex 9 Drawer unit, what a surprise, which is absolutely perfect. I’m only going to talk about the cosmetics drawers in this post but if anyone’s interested I could maybe do a post with all the other stuff too at some point..? But anyway:)

Image

These are the random things I keep on top of my cabinet- mostly everday things or things I’m still trying out. My collection of lip balms is getting a little out of hand, too. *Also, five points to the first person to spot the Supernatural merch*.

Starting out with the top drawer (my favourite) which is where I keep all of my lip products. Everything’s a little bit of a mess at the moment, I need to move some things around and maybe donate a couple of things to my sisters. Some of my favourites from this drawer are my Revlon Lip Butters, the lip crayons (particularly Soap&Glory, Clinique and Bourjois’) and my MAC Lipsticks- Plumful (x2, long story), On Hold, Syrup, Sunny Seoul and Patisserie (absolute fave!).

Image

The second drawer is where I keep all of my face products. If I could only keep one of my make-up drawers it would definitely be this one, I have a bit of a thing for foundations and highlighters. My favourites in this drawer are Bobbi Brown Skin, Rimmel Match Perfection, Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum, Rimmel Stay Matte Powder, Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector, Soap&Glory Glow All Out and Becca Ever Matte Perfecting Primer.

Image

The third drawer is where I keep all of my eye make-up, which is basically palettes and eye liners. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this on my blog before, but I haven’t worn mascara for about three years. Crazy, but I can’t stand having anything on my eyelashes, it just makes me feel really uncomfortable. Luckily my eyelashes are ok-ish, I can kind of get away with it:) I used to be fine with it and wear mascara every single day when I was about eleven, but now I don’t even like how I look with long eyelashes, it’s really weird.

I just thought I’d mention that in case anyone thought it was really weird that I don’t have any mascaras:D.

Anyway, my favourites in here are my Naked palettes, the Laura Mercier artist palette for eyes, Maybelline 24HR Color Tattoos, Rimmel Scandeleyes Eyeliner and my Soap&Glory quad.

Image

The final ‘cosmetics’ drawer is my make-up brushes- do they count? I think they count:) My favourites in here are my Real Techniques brushes (literally all of them, maybe I should do a more in-depth review?) and my Shu Uemera Eyelash Curlers. I love them so much, they’re kind of a must for me because of the whole mascara thing, they just make me look a little bit more awake.

Image

I really hope that was a little bit interesting or helpful! Let me know how you store your makeup, my organisation is a bit of a mess:). If you see any products here that you want a review for, feel free to let me know in the comments too!

*I’m actually ashamed of how awful these photos are, I’m sorry. The lighting and weather has been really really bad recently, but I wanted to get this post up asap.*

Happy New Year!

X

4 responses to “Makeup Collection & Storage

  1. OH MY GOD YOU LOVE SUPERNATURAL?????????????? You are my favorite person, right now! ❤
    Great collection..and I want all of those Real Techniques brushes!!! Now I only own the expert face brush!

penny for your thoughts?

