Bobbi Brown Old Hollywood Palette


Alright. I don’t know if I can do this. Before I really start writing, take a look at some beautiful pictures of this very aesthetically pleasing eyeshadow palette.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I have to start out by saying that I love these colours. The whole shade selection is exactly the sort of thing I would wear, and the name ‘Old Hollywood’ fits so perfectly because this whole palette just looks so goddamn glamourous. 

Then there are the swatches.

Image

Colours? Still gorgeous. But these shadows are sheer. I’m talking, built-up-five-layers-of-swatching-on-my-super-pale-skin, sheer. The pigmentation is awful, they’re chalky, they don’t blend, and 1/3 of the eyeshadow palette is almost invisible.

I then decided to swatch them wet, to see if that made any difference-

Image

And they look okay. This, again, is reaaally built up. The matte shades didn’t even want to try to cooperate with the water (I may have ruined Ivory) but at least you can see the actual colour of the shimmery ones now.

I don’t really know what else to say *exceptthatthispalettewas£59ahem*, because I am so, so disappointed. I expect better quality from drugstore eyeshadows than I got from this, and I actually genuinely can’t believe that they can even get away with selling this. Was it tested?! I mean, don’t get me wrong, I love Bobbi Brown. It’s definitely one of my all time favourite brands, but I don’t think I’ll be rushing to try out any more of their eyeshadows soon.

Have any of you been able to make this work? Just so you know, I won’t be doing ‘negative reviews’ very often at all. I was actually really hesitant to publish this one, but since this palette is so very expensive and it just came back into stock on Bobbi Brown’s website, I thought somebody might benefit from reading it.

*I have a gallery of eyeshadow swatches at http://www.lollclarke.wordpress.com if you’re looking for your perfect eyeshadow palette!:) *

10 responses to “Bobbi Brown Old Hollywood Palette

  1. Ahhhh, that is awful! When I saw the photo on the preview, I thought, oh my, this might just be the most perfect neutral palette! Such a shame we can’t return cosmetics in EU, isn’t it?

  2. but but… the palette is so pretty WAAAAYYY!

penny for your thoughts?

