Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette | Review & Swatches


Just give me a minute to compose myself.

This palette is honestly the most beautiful thing I’ve bought this year. I mean, it’s only March, but holy crap, this is literally a combination of two of my favourite things (eyeshadow palettes and chocolate, how empty does my life sound?) and just look how stunning it is.

Image

Image

Even the box that this palette comes in is ridiculously beautiful.

Image

The back of the box shows little pictures and the names of the eyeshadow shades- I love it when they do that.

Image

Image

The palette (which looks like a chocolate bar, obviously, but more on that in a minute) comes packaged in the lovely pink box and with a little eyeshadow-inspiration booklet. It’s actually quite helpful, I’m not sure I’d follow it word for word but their colour combination suggestions are lovely.

Image

 What do you think? I’m particularly in love with the ‘Haute Chocolate’ look, with the tulip effect and everything. Might have to try that one out at some point.

 Image

Image

Best. Packaging. Ever. It has a metallic clasp and it’s made of tin, so it feels pretty sturdy but I’m not sure it’s the kind of palette I’d want to throw in my handbag. I’m a little worried about getting scratches on it to be honest, it’s not the most durable material. But hey, it looks like a chocolate bar, so I can deal with wanting to wrap it in bubble wrap every time I put it in my makeup cabinet.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

The colours are so beautiful, don’t you think? And the names, argh! So perfect! And have I mentioned that these eyeshadows are made from ‘antioxidant rich cocoa powder’, so the whole palette smells like chocolate?

Image

Image

Gilded Ganache- Shimmer. Dark khaki toned (pan only, swatches less green) brown with gold shimmer.

White Chocolate- Matte. Muted, creamy pale yellow.

Milk Chocolate- Matte. Medium neutral brown.

Black Forest Truffle- Shimmer. Dark brown with purple/ red tones and gold shimmer.

Triple Fudge- Matte. Dark neutral brown.

Salted Caramel- Matte. Peachy, orange-brown.

Marzipan- Shimmer. Pale, peachy gold.

Semi-Sweet- Matte. Medium brown with red tones.

Strawberry Bon Bon- Matte. Pale bubblegum pink.

Candied Violet- Shimmer. Lavender with pink shimmer.

Amaretto- Shimmer. Medium burgundy with fine gold shimmer.

Hazelnut- Shimmer. Medium cool brown with fine gold shimmer.

Creme Brûlée- Shimmer. Medium Gold. *My apologies for the pretentious autocorrect on ‘Brûlée’. Brûlée. Brûlée. GOD.

Haute Chocolate- Shimmer. Cool dark brown with fine gold shimmer.

Cherry Cordial- Matte. Burgundy.

Champagne Truffle- Shimmer. Palest pale pink ever, closer to off white.

 I think that most of these eyeshadows are pretty damn close to perfect. There are a few (Triple Fudge, Candied Violet and Cherry Cordial) which were a little bit dry and powdery and could be a lot better quality, but apart from that I love the pigmentation, the lasting-power and how wonderfully blend able these shadows are. I also wish that Gilded Ganache and White Chocolate would swap places in the palette so that the bigger highlight shades (so clever!) would be at either corner. But that is just me being a little bit OCD about it.

Another thing I love about this palette is that most of the shades are pretty much impossible to dupe (not including possible MAC dupes). I’ve actually got a page long list of notes in front of me with the closest colour comparisons I can think of, but to be honest I don’t think any of them are close enough for me to even bother typing. Let me know in the comments if you want to know what eyeshadows are similar!

You can buy the Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette at Beauty Bay for £40.50 and at Debenhams for £39.50, both reduced from £45. I have to be honest, I think this the only time I have every seriously considered buying a ‘spare’ eyeshadow palette. This is my new ultimate favourite- it’s not to warm toned or too cool toned, there are a couple of lovely transitional matte shades, some wearable colours, some neutrals, beautiful highlight shades, it smells like chocolate… It’s stunning, and I’m a little bit obsessed.

Have you tried this, or are you planning on trying it?

Too Faced Natural Eye Palette Review

10 responses to “Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette | Review & Swatches

  1. Pingback: Chocolate | la belle

  2. V

    The packaging on its own would sell me. Add to that, I’m a sucker for neutral palettes. Have fun. Looks like gorgeous makeup

  3. I am always tempted when cosmetics companies come out with new palettes. I am a big eye shadow palette collector. I figured I could skip out on this one but now you want me to get it! Love that it smells like chocolate!

  4. Lucky! I do ogle at new palettes too! It’s such a a cool idea to incorporate real chocolate ingredients in it.Have fun with your new makeup!:)

penny for your thoughts?

