Barry M Silk Nail Polish | Review & Swatches


Look at this lovely pastel fabulous-ness! Barry M’s Silk Nail Polishes are probably the prettiest collection they’ve released and I am completely obsessed.

Image

Image

Image

Meadow, Mist, Heather, Blossom, Pearl, Truffle £3.99– such cute names!

DSCF3854

Image

Meadow is pale green which is opaque in three coats. This colour is lovely in the bottle, but on my nails it’s my last favourite purely because pale green isn’t that great against my super pale skin.

Mist is a really beautiful light blue, which is fully opaque in three coats but personally I prefer the look of two. One of my favourites in this collection, but I will honestly fall in love with any blue nail polish.

Heather is another favourite- pale purple, with the same opacity as Mist. I love this colour but I’m not sure how often I’ll reach for it, I always forget about purples, for some reason.

Image

Blossom is absolutely beautiful. It’s baby pink and opaque in three coats (again, I prefer the look of two) which I really love on my skin tone.

Pearl is the best name, really, because that’s exactly what this nail polish is. It’s pure white, and opaque in three coats. Not my favourite, but probably lovely if you’re tanned.

Truffle really surprised me and is my absolute favourite of the collection. The colour’s a really difficult one to describe, because in some lights it’s a silvery greige, and in others it’s a golden champagne colour. Opaque in two or three coats.

Image

Truffle

Image

Image

Image

Image

How would you describe this colour? In these photos it looks almost like a pale brown (Truffle is actually a very good name) but it’s definitely got more of a duo-chrome to it in real life.

Image

Image

Image

*Sorry about my disgusting nails, particularly my index finger. Do your nails ever do that thing were they kind of peel off?! It sounds so disgusting, but mine do that all the time, which is strange because they’re actually pretty healthy.*

From left to right: Pearl, Blossom, Heather, Mist, Meadow.

I’m not sure if you can tell in these photos, but the finish of these nail polishes is absolutely beautiful. They’re frosty, pearly and almost matte. They’re quite sheer, too, and you can see in some of my photos (particularly with Truffle, which I only used two coats for) that you can still see the line on my nails. I actually really like that with these polishes, they kind of give a soft, barely-there effect on your nails (the nail equivalent of tinted lip balms?) which just looks really neat and polished. They also dry really quickly, so you can do two very thin coats of any of these colours and be out the door in under ten minutes.

These last two or three days on me without chipping, but I’m not sure that’s the best test because I do a lot of typing and I’m the worst offender for using my nails as tools. They could possibly last longer with a topcoat, but obviously that would ruin the pretty effect. I don’t think even a matte top coat would work, because these are kind of a satin finish. Petition to change the names of these to Satin, instead of Silk? Silk isn’t really the first thing I think of when I see them, but how pretty is the packaging?!

Will you be trying any of these? They’re buy one get one half price at Superdrug at the moment, and I think they’re such a great take on the pastel-nails-for-Spring trend.

4 responses to “Barry M Silk Nail Polish | Review & Swatches

  1. Pingback: Pastel Nails | la belle

  2. Pingback: New Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Nail Polish | Spring | la belle

  3. blushingbeauty9

    These nail polishes just have spring written all over them, love it!x

penny for your thoughts?

