Real Techniques Brushes | Review & Collection


 Image

Why has it taken me so long to get around to writing this post? I love Real Techniques brushes, and I’ve built up quite a collection over the past few months, so I’m going to attempt to type up a bit of a review.

Warning- I apparently cannot move my thoughts to the keyboard today so this could be a bit of a mess.

Flawless Base Brushes

Image

Image

Image

Powder Brush- I love using this brush with setting and mattifying powders, which need to cover a large surface area and don’t need to be precisely applied. It’s super soft and the bristles aren’t too dense, so you can get a light but even coverage of powder.

Buffing Brush- This one is great for quickly buffing in liquid or powder foundations. It has quite a large surface area and very dense bristles so it’s perfect for building foundations to medium/ full coverage.

Expert Face Brush- I use this one for buffing in liquid foundation too, but I actually prefer it to the Buffing Brush. It’s slighter smaller and more of a domed shape, so you can be more precise with where your foundation goes. 

Contour Brush- This brush gives a really precise but blended effect, which is great because I’m bloody useless with contouring. I find it works better with powder products, though, because the bristles aren’t very dense.

Pointed Foundation Brush- My least used RT Brush, purely because I don’t like the whole ‘painting on foundation’ thing. I’ve used this with powder to set under eye concealer a few times, though, and it works quite nicely for that.

Detailer Brush- Quite nice for concealing small areas, but again, not really one that I reach for. 

Duo-Fibre Face Brush- This brush is perfect for blending away harsh blush/ bronzer lines. Honestly, I think it’s pretty useless for applying products, but when used on already-applied-makeup it gives a really flawless, airbrushed finish. 

Perfected Finish Brushes

Image

Image

Image

Blush Brush- This brush is awesome, it’s a really unique shape and I think it’s perfect for kind of three-shaped-bronzer (do you know what the hell I’m talking about here? Sorry). I’ve used it for blush too, but I find it’s a little bit too soft and that makes the colour quite difficult to control. 

Multitask Brush- This brush is my current favourite for powders. It’s a great size, so you can be precise but still cover a large surface area, and it seems to pick up the perfect amount of product.

Stippling Brush- My ultimate favourite for foundation. I’ve mentioned before that this brush seems to hide any spots and even out my skin, while still keeping coverage to a minimum. The bristles are quite sparse (when I bought this, I was expecting it to be denser than the Buffing Brush, but it’s actually much flimsier) so it’s awesome for blending, too.

Setting Brush- I use this one for setting under eye concealer because it’s tiny, but still a really nice domed shape. It’s kind of a very, very small version of the Blush Brush, and it’s perfect for precisely applying setting powders or highlighter.

Duo-Fibre Contour Brush- This ones nice for a really, really light contour. It doesn’t pick up much product and it blends like crazy, so I also quite like it for very light blusher.

Enhanced Eyes Brushes

 Image

Image

Image

Deluxe Crease Brush- If you ever go for a concealer-only look, you need this brush. It’s perfect for blending small amounts under the eye and around the nose and works like a tiny Buffing Brush.

Base Shadow Brush- This brush is nice for a really blending in a really soft, barely-there crease colour. I find it’s a little too rounded to apply darker all-over-lid shadows, but with lighter colours it works fine.

Essential Crease Brush- I think that this brush is kind of the better version of the Base Shadow Brush purely because it’s slightly smaller, which means it’s easier to apply colour and blend at the same time. 

Shading Brush- This one’s the perfect size and shape for applying colour all over the lids. It’s super soft and picks up the right amount of colour- love!

Brow Brush- The thickness of this brush is almost exactly the same thickness as the thinner end of my eyebrows- so it’s not the best for filling them in. It’s also way to thick for eyeliner, but it can be useful for doing a really defined crease colour or shaping the outer-v for cat eyed eyeshadow.

Accent Brush- Perfect for highlighting the tear duct and brow bone.

Pixel Point Eyeliner Brush- I love this one for pin point concealing, but I personally think it’s way to thick to be an eyeliner brush. It might be good for blending eyeliner, though?

Fine Liner Brush- Again, not one I’d really be able to use for eyeliner, but it’s great for very precise concealing. 

Duo-Fibre Eye Brush- Great for blending your finished eye shadow for a really perfect finish.

*My Favourites— Expert Face Brush, Contour Brush, Blush Brush, Stippling Brush, Deluxe Crease Brush, Essential Crease Brush, Shading Brush, Duo-Fibre Eye Brush.*

All of these brushes are amazing quality, don’t shed, are incredibly easy to wash and they’re all synthetic and cruelty free. I love the colour coded handles, too- they’re so pretty! Real Techniques are amazing and they’re so affordable- I honestly don’t feel like I need to try out any other more expensive brands (looking at you here MAC).

I hope this was helpful! What do you think of Real Techniques Brushes, and which ones have you tried? I’m really excited to get my hands on the new retractable ones (I think they’ll be so useful for throwing in my makeup bag) and the Miracle Complexion Sponge.

11 responses to “Real Techniques Brushes | Review & Collection

  1. Pingback: Currently Loving #3 | la belle

  2. I’m going to buy some just don’t want to buy online, I’d like to see them first. I’m picky but heard great things about this brand.

  3. blushingbeauty9

    I am so jealous of all these brushes you have, i want the expert face brush the most xx

  4. I only have two Real Techniques brushes, but I definitely want so many more! I’m quite jealous of your collection haha. I’m super excited to try out the buffing brush!

  5. Great review! I have the blush brush. I need a brush for applying bronzer so I might have to check out this brand some more.

  6. amuletabeauty

    So helpful 😍 I’ve been thinking about buying them and definitely will now!

penny for your thoughts?

