Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Palette | Review, Swatches & Comparison


Image

What? An all matte palette? For £4? Yeah, this is totally what Naked Basics should have looked like, don’t you think? This palette is another gem from Makeup Revolution (a brand which I am now ever so slightly obsessed with, by the way) which I’ve been testing out for a couple of days now so I thought it was about time I wrote a little review! *Or tried to. I apologise in advance for this post, it’s kind of a mess*

Image

Image

Image

I’m so happy with the colour selection! I think it would have been pretty easy for Makeup Revolution to have filled up this palette with various shades of brown, but there are actual, wearable colours here. Including purples. I have such a thing for purple eye shadows. 

The only thing I don’t love about the shades are that the first four are actually very, very similar (see swatches below), and I feel like one or two of them are only there so this can be a Naked Basics dupe- see what I mean?!

Image

‘Foxy’ and Shade 2 are very similar in the pan, and so are ‘Naked 2’ and Shade 5- but anyway, swatches!

Image

The first four shades are incredibly similar when they’re swatched, because, to be honest, the pigmentation isn’t great. My super pale skin definitely doesn’t help, but those four are quite built up in the picture and they’re still barely visible. The rest of the shades, however, are pretty awesome. The pigmentation is much better, and you can really see the colour intensity when they’re swatched. They are all quite chalky, but applied over a good primer they’re all really easy to apply and blend- and they last pretty well too, some of the lighter shades are only about four hours but for the more intense colours I can get at least six hours of wear out of them.

Overall, I think for a £4 palette, this is pretty incredible. I’m so happy that there’s finally a good drugstore, all-matte eyeshadow palette, and one that has a really pretty shade selection. What do you think of the swatches? Have you tried any of the Makeup Revolution palettes?

Available at Superdrug and Makeup Revolution.

One response to “Makeup Revolution Essential Mattes Palette | Review, Swatches & Comparison

  1. Pingback: Makeup Revolution Romantic Smoked Palette | Review & Swatches | la belle

penny for your thoughts?

